Discover Our Historic Maine Inn
We look forward to welcoming you to The Dunes on the Waterfront. Our family has spent three generations creating the historic property present today, and we continue to appreciate and nurture what we have inherited. The original charm of the buildings has been carefully retained as modern comfort and conveniences have been added.
- The Dunes on the Waterfront originated with 12 acres of riverfront pastureland purchased by Russell and Beatrice Weare Perkins in 1935.
- Four cottages were built initially, and the first guests were welcomed in the summer of 1936.
- Visitors would often arrive at the old Wells Railroad Station with their trunks and be shuttled by taxi to the Dunes, where the cottages were rented for the entire season.
- Additional cottages were added throughout the 1930’s and 40’s, and Russell and Beatrice joined their guests as in-season residents for many years, managing the property from an office in their summer cottage.
- Ongoing remodeling and reconfiguring led to the division and renumbering of many cottages, and two of the current buildings were actually moved to the property from alternate Ogunquit locations in the 1950’s.
- Richard, the son of Russell and Beatrice, built a house on the property in 1966 with his wife, Cynthia, and they managed the property together until his death in 1977, when she took over.
- After building a new laundry and maintenance building in 1993, Aaron Perkins built the current office on the site of the original storage barn. He and his wife Cindy still own the property today.